Highlights

There are many reasons to come to Berlin for the EUT. Here are just a few.

Theme

Our theme

At the end of this, the second decade of the 21st Century, we find ourselves confronted with many a slogan encouraging us to embrace diversity in all its forms. The European Union (EU) adopted ‘Unity in diversity’ as their motto at the turn of the century, signifying how Europeans have come together to form the EU to work for peace and prosperity while being enriched by the continent’s many different cultures, traditions and languages. But slogans are not change, and change involves time, effort and perseverance. Our theme is intended to acknowledge this. 

We pondered the question of our neighbors at the EUU retreat in Frankfurt in 2016, and then started building bridges to one another at the EUT in Ulm/ Neu-Ulm in 2017.

The concerns addressed at EUT 2017 are still current: (im)migration and integration have built some bridges in Europe, while others have been torn down. Populism and a general underlying mistrust of ‘the other’ is on the increase. Fortunately many Europeans have come out to bear witness to the democratic process and ensure the rights of every individual human being.

Our theme is meant to address local, European and global concerns and opportunities. What place does variety have in life of the world at large and our extended family of faith traditions? Is there such a thing as too much variety?  Where does unity end and diversity begin? How do we address the bitter along with the sweet; how do we address both rational and irrational fears and journey through change?

We would like to explore a variety of aspects of our theme with two keynote speakers, three services (the youth are designing their own!), and an array of workshops and tours, complemented by good music, warm conversations and just plain fun.

Highlights

Es gibt viele Gründe, zum EUT nach Berlin zu kommen. Dies ist eine Auswahl davon.

Das Thema

Am Ende dieser zweiten Dekade des 21. Jahrhunderts werden wir immer wieder mit Forderungen zur Umsetzung von Vielfalt in allen Formen konfrontiert. Bereits zur Jahrtausendwende gab die Europäische Union (EU) das Motto „Einheit in Vielfalt“ aus und zeigte auf, wie die Europäer zukünftig Frieden und Wohlstand durch Stärkung von Gemeinsamkeiten, bereichert durch die verschiedenen Kulturen, Traditionen und Sprachen, sichern könnten. Ein Motto allein bewirkt jedoch keine Veränderungen. Veränderungen benötigen Zeit, Anstrengungen und Beharrlichkeit. Unser Thema soll diese Herausforderungen zum Ausdruck bringen.

Das Motto des Unitariertages 2015 in Worms lautete „Spuren lesen – Wege bahnen“. Beim EUT 2017 in Ulm/Neu-Ulm sind wir der Frage „Glaube ohne Grenzen?“ nachgegangen.

Diese Themen sind aktueller denn je: Durch Migration und Integration sind manche Brücken in Europa entstanden, während andere  eingerissen wurden. Populismus und ein generelles Misstrauen gegenüber „den Anderen“ haben zugenommen. Glücklicherweise stehen dennoch viele Europäer für Demokratie, Freiheit und Menschenrechte ein.

Unser Thema hat viele Facetten – regional, europäisch und weltweit: Welchen Platz und welche Bedeutung hat Vielfalt in unserem Alltag und in unserer globalen unitarischen Gemeinschaft? Gibt es so etwas wie zu viel Vielfalt? Wo endet die Einheit und wo beginnt die Vielfalt? Wie gehen wir mit dem manchmal bitteren Beigeschmack der Vielfalt um, mit den rationalen Argumenten und den irrationalen Ängsten?

Die unterschiedlichen Aspekte unseres Thema entwickeln wir mit den Beiträgen unserer zwei Hauptrednerinnen, Feierstunden (inklusive einer von Jugendlichen gestalteten), einer Vielzahl von Arbeits- und Aktivgruppen, interessanten Ausflügen, guter Musik, Begegnungen, intensiven Gesprächen sowie bei allem Spaß und Freude.